The Black Vulture, Chesapeake & Delaware Canal Bridge & the praying mantises… let the Road-Trip begin !

I took the “Road-trip” thing quite seriously.

The other day, we decided to go find this road by the canal, under and between the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal Bridge and the St. George Bridge. It was a really nice area, you could actually walk by the water.

Chesapeake & Delaware Canal Bridge, the newest Bridge.

This is the bridge you will have to take from Newark, New Castle, (The Northern part of Delaware) if you want to go towards the Beaches (Down South)

Road-trip I was saying, here’s the proof.

They are many beautiful birds around the area. Partly because it’s the Chesapeake Bay.

If you wonder what this Bay is, here a map and some details:

“The Chesapeake Bay is the largest estuary in the United States.[2] It lies off the Atlantic Ocean, surrounded byMaryland and Virginia. The Chesapeake Bay’s drainage basin covers 64,299 square miles (166,534 km2) in the District of Columbia and parts of six states: New YorkPennsylvaniaDelawareMarylandVirginia, and West Virginia.[3] More than 150 rivers and streams drain into the Bay, and it comprises 64,000 square miles (170,000 km2) of bays, marshes and rivers” (Thank you Wikipedia)

“Marsh”… the key word. Who says marshes and rivers, says birds :)

Delaware Black Vulture

It was the first time I saw a Vulture. I have seen many beautiful birds in Delaware. But this one was pretty nice, he didn’t want to leave, I tried to make him fly away, but he just liked to pose like a model. I got him from pretty close.

St. Georges Bridge

The Chesapeake and Delaware Cana Bridge (Newest) and the St. George Bridge (Older) both getting us to the Beach.

Found a praying mantises

4 thoughts on “The Black Vulture, Chesapeake & Delaware Canal Bridge & the praying mantises… let the Road-Trip begin !

  1. Hello Eleonora,

    I am Erika from TravelerVoice, a new social network for travel bloggers.

    I just found your blog and I really like how you described your stories with beautiful pictures and assertive comments! It’s exactly the kind of writing we are looking for our Living abroad section, please feel free to register :)

    In the meantime I am running a contest to reward the most outstanding travel blogs on the web and I am still looking for new members :) so please check it out at http://www.travelervoice.com/contest.aspx for further details.

    I am looking forward to hearing from you :)

    Cheers,
    Erika.

  2. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

